Ryerson Webseries: “First” Meeting

9 a.m. Monday morning, we were sitting in the staff lounge next to Ramona’s office. I was sipping on my morning coffee as I looked around at the narrow space with high ceilings. Music is subtly filling the room from Jefferson’s laptop. All the interns filled up the couches that formed a (sort of) semi-circle.

Ramona walks in, breaking the silence and everyone’s attention turns to her. The meeting begins and we talk about the project’s name, what needs to be done, and their trip to New York City to interview people at The Singularity and the curator at the Natural Museum.

Then the fire alarm begins to ring.

We walked out and sat in the Pitman quad. The meeting continues and they started assigning tasks. I’m helping with the NYC research (I would really love to go) and research on the topic of community & currency.  On Friday, I volunteered to transcribe the TIFF interviews, but was unable to get the footage because my laptop doesn’t have a firewire port. I brought a 16gb SD card that I had recently bought for filming with. I followed Ramona to her office after the meeting had ended to get the TIFF footage.

When I got home after work, I began to transcribe the first interview, which was with Gerard Hauk. I have a free program, Express Scribe, that helps with transcribing by giving the transcriber global hotkeys, which allows you to rewind, pause, play, and control playback speed without having to leave the word processor.

I first used this program back in 2008 to transcribe an interview with my grandmother about WWII for a history project. It was so useful that I wanted to see if they’d updated the program and supported video yet, which they did. Unfortunately, the audio when playing back on video was really bad, so it was extremely difficult to hear it, as I could hear the background noise (of the catering team) more than the speaker. I extracted the audio and put the audio into Express Scribe. It was so much better to listen to.

In a few hours, I had transcribed two 6-minute interviews. It took me awhile to get into the swing of transcribing, so the first interview took longer than transcribing the second interview. Hopefully I’ll be able to finish transcribing those interviews soon.

 

About Cristal Sung

Cristal is a new media designer, who believes in the importance of feeding the soul with art, culture, and food. Her work focuses on themes of identity, sociopolitical problems and the concept of beauty. Cristal is from Hong Kong and studies in Toronto.

Leave a Reply

