Ryerson Webseries: Format Ideas

A lecture from Slavica had us all inspired by interactive documentaries. Many of us thinking that it would be an amazing way to show this webseries to a new audience. In our heads we had a large web for the series that is made up of little webs for each episode. The center of the web being the finished cut of an episode and all the branches of the web being additional footage of interviews or other related links and such. It allows the user to explore more in topics and interview that they are interested in. It’s all about the new viewers (aka me) that have relatively short attention spans and are only interested in their own interests. A group of us proposed the idea to Ramona before the group meeting.

I talked to Ramona about the topics that I’m research and I have to be able to come up with some interesting stories. I’m trying to think of things, but a lot of the information that I come up with seems weird, old, or has been done. (I don’t plan to state the topics, since I’m unsure how much I can share about this project).

We do have a topic on remix and it would be so amazing to interview JGL from hitrecord.org! I wish I was more involved in that community, but it always falls onto the back burner because school is priority.

About Cristal Sung

Cristal is a new media designer, who believes in the importance of feeding the soul with art, culture, and food. Her work focuses on themes of identity, sociopolitical problems and the concept of beauty. Cristal is from Hong Kong and studies in Toronto.

Leave a Reply

