Ryerson Webseries: The “New” Way of Learning

Ramona assigned readings to us and I picked A New Culture of Learning by Doug Thomas & John Seely Brown. It’s a slow read and is written very academically. Sadly, it didn’t present any new ideas to me, I had difficulty getting through the reading. It talked about how children can learn through forum communities and remixing, sharing. It says that a lot of the knowledge that is useful can be learned through Google.

Really not surprising. It’s definitely a generational thing. I grew up with the Internet and because of Neopets back in 2002 (and my sister), I started web and graphic design. At 11, I had started to learn HTML from the Internet (from Lissa Explains It All).

The Internet allows you to learn at your own pace, and you can learn the way that suits you best. Who really learns a lot by being forced to sit in a classroom and just listening? I’m more of a kinetic learner, I learn from doing. HTML, CSS is another language that I can read and write. It’s an important skill and has allowed me to have work.

It’s just interesting how fast things change. My old portfolio back in 2008, was made completely in Flash, which was the thing to do. Now, it’s no Flash at all, do HTML5 & CSS3. In technology, 4 years is a very very long time. We have to stay up to date with changes in the Industry standard. Things that go into books and print are already too old.

About Cristal Sung

Cristal is a new media designer, who believes in the importance of feeding the soul with art, culture, and food. Her work focuses on themes of identity, sociopolitical problems and the concept of beauty. Cristal is from Hong Kong and studies in Toronto.

Leave a Reply

