Imagery Exercise

Had a meeting with Jessica. I was assigned an exercise to use Statistic Canada and to find imagery, google image tryptic that conveys the statistics for my big idea.

I didn’t end up finding anything interesting from Statistics Canada.

The closest I got was consumer spending in home electronics, computer & cameras in Canada (millions)

2007 2008 2009 2010 2011
13,958.9 14,953.0 14,090.5 15,109.4 15,703.6

Source: Statistics Canada

Oddly enough for images though, I got this:

Searching up: kidney, I got a mixture. Some were real kidneys and then I found this plush. It has something odd, creepy, and quirky. I don’t know what it means to my project, but this intrigues me.

I need to figure out if I need an algorithm or AI.Currently, my project eventually dies and unfortunately it’s in a gallery, so the story can get lost. Needs to be cyclical. The audience has to somehow feel bad and not  project that doesn’t work. Need to deconstruct my idea.

Research:

USA Today – Organ harvesting changes in China will be tough to realize

Some 10,000 transplants are performed in China each year, second only to the USA.
In one recent case, a 17-year-old boy sold one of his kidneys for $3,500 to buy an iPad and iPhone.

Havocscope – Estimated number of organ trafficking incidents in 2010

Estimated 10,000 cases of illegal sales of organs in 2010. 75% of black market in organs involves kidneys.

Havocscope – Kidney and Organ Prices

Average paid by Kidney Buyer: USD 150,000

Average paid to Seller of Kidney: USD 5,000

Havocscope – Price of kidney in China in 2012

An article by USA Today reported that buyers in China are able to purchase organs on the black market in China at prices between $32,000 to $62,000.

This price reported in 2012 was lower than the previously reported price listed by Havocscope. Previously, it was reported that Japanese tourists were paying $87,000 to receive a black market kidney operation in China in 2009.

About Cristal Sung

Cristal is a new media designer, who believes in the importance of feeding the soul with art, culture, and food. Her work focuses on themes of identity, sociopolitical problems and the concept of beauty. Cristal is from Hong Kong and studies in Toronto.

Leave a Reply

