Proof of Concept

So none of my technology has been working. I can’t get the printer to work! The light blinks, but the printing test doesn’t work. Maybe I need an actual power supply and not the computer tower one? Doesn’t make sense to me, since there’s multiple voltages in one computer power supply. The wiring inside the plastic box is so ridiculous and my LCD monitor is just hanging there and none of the piezo sensors are working. Just not my week. I also burned my potentiometer, but it stil seems to work. I think it’s time to get a new one.

DSC02231
I wanted to test the idea that Caroline suggested with the choice decisions, but I put all consumer items. Which was probably not a good idea. I got a lot of questions about win/lose, making an audience think. Rokeby was a guest crit and he was saying how the audience isn’t very smart and that things should not be too difficult to understand, don’t expect the audience to think the same way.

2012-11-16 10.42.58
There was also the question, if I wanted to make it a performance piece. I’m not sure, I don’t want to be standing around all night at Meta trying to get things to run. What is the difference if it is a performance or not.

Maybe a sinister doctor? How is it related? Kathryn suggest having all the organs on me and people taking them off and throwing them. Making a decision for someone else. I kind of like her suggestion of giving the organs when people enter into the gallery and letting them get a little attached to them.

Also, is there a way of keeping the organ? I think I might go in the direction of Caroline’s suggestion of trading an organ for true love or freedom, things that are more noble rather than only material items. Does the receipt print something else?

Rokeby also seemed confused by the actions of scanning, throwing, and receiving. I was way to tired to even defend it. I slept 6 hours in the last 3 days, have been working on my politics essay that was due Wed. and then most of the night working with technology that just doesn’t seem to want to work! If my technical doesn’t work, Jessica said to replace it with performance for the User Test.

So I have to think about the action of scanning, are you buying something?

Also is the toy too cuddly for us to want to throw it away?

About Cristal Sung

Cristal is a new media designer, who believes in the importance of feeding the soul with art, culture, and food. Her work focuses on themes of identity, sociopolitical problems and the concept of beauty. Cristal is from Hong Kong and studies in Toronto.

Leave a Reply

