The Days when Technology Cooperates (aka Coding Epiphanies)

The amazing times when technology just seems to be working. I rewired everything, so that it was a little cleaner. Decided I wanted to rehouse the wiring to look nicer, less thrown together (which was a comment from my proof of concept). Got everything to run off ATX power supply and Arduino. Everything was recoded, reassembled, and everything seemed to work.

One vibration sensor was plugged in, but I hadn’t plugged in the other one because I need more wire. The one piezo mic was working, triggered the led that I had attached.

I hadn’t gotten the RFID reader to work before, but apparently it’s all in my code. The best part is that I can run all my sketches separately , but not have to remove wirings. One change in pin numbers and it was up and running! Amazing!

I created boxes for the throwing. I want to be able to stack them and rearrange them, mostly for setup and wiring purposes. I tested the piezo by putting it underneath, designing a small stand to avoid crushing the piezo. The one piezo I had was nicely detecting when the plush toy fell in and didn’t detect other hittings.

I’ll have to decide what should happen when the throw is a miss. I’ll have to think about it.

I got the printer to print whatever I wanted, made it so every event would fill in a variable. For some odd reason, the 2nd piezo kept triggering the Lamborghini information to print out. I figured it was something to do with the fact that I hadn’t plugged on it yet, but during the critique it was still obvious that there was a bug and that it would keep triggering.

I’ll have to look through my code again, clean it up a little, and hopefully get rid of bugs. Thankfully, it resets properly and can fully run off of the Arduino.

I have to move my scanner to the top. I watched a few people test it and it’s not that intuitive, so that’ll have to be fixed for the User Test.

Jessica said that I’m still missing the 3rd Ah-ha moment that would make it a really good art piece.

I’ll be adding true love and freedom as choice options and more material things. Also, what happens when somebody misses??? What do they get? Erin was testing it and decided she wanted Education, but missed, so she said “And now I can’t get education”.

How do I make a viewer feel bad about this story? Should I also be printed?

Jessica suggested that I do something drastic for the user test, since I’ll have viewers that have never seen my piece.

I’ll have to work on aesthetic setup, I’m hoping that I could use the lights in Room 310 to shine on my piece and setup these white plastic curtains that I got to help create that medical feel.

I’ll have to get a RFID scanner, Phidget Vibration Sensors, since these were all borrowed from the vending machine.

Resources:
LiquidCrystal Clear | Phidget Vibration Sensor

About Cristal Sung

Cristal is a new media designer, who believes in the importance of feeding the soul with art, culture, and food. Her work focuses on themes of identity, sociopolitical problems and the concept of beauty. Cristal is from Hong Kong and studies in Toronto.

Leave a Reply

