It’s all about the material

I’d gone to Home Depot and gotten Plywood. I was going to go early with somebody, but they bailed and that meant a cab ride back on my own.

The closest Home Depot is at Gerrard Square (1000 Gerrard St. E.). It’s about a 30 minute streetcar ride, Gerrard & Pape are the intersections. The Zellers is now a Walmart there and I haven’t gone in a while.

I had a shopping list of things, but knew I wouldn’t physically be able to carry that much. Plywood was significantly more important because Home Hardware doesn’t sell large pieces of plywood and Canadian Tire doesn’t sell them at all. I knew that I wanted the box to be about 5 feet tall and about 2 feet wide.

I made sure that it would be a realistic size, but still fit through doors and be a good height. I’m about “average” height and can gauge what is “eye-level” (I can’t read that word without a Southern accent in my head).

Some random guy walked by and said in Cantonese that I was a really smart girl. This particular Home Depot is on the brink of East Chinatown. There’s a strong male chauvinistic attitude towards hardware and power tools. I always get asked if I need help at hardware stores.

The workshop was open today, which was why I made the effort to go to Home Depot. I have a critique Friday and I want to make sure I get everything setup. I’m hoping to get the physical almost done.

Joseph was very nice. The 1/2″ plywood was a little thinner than he liked working with, 5/8″ would be better. We used wood glue and a staple gun to make the box structurally strong. The glue main bonding material and the staples were acting more as clips. The staple gun was very easy to get the hang of. It took about an 1.5 hours to finish putting the box together. It had a top and bottom. I decided to have an opening in the back rather than a door, since I plan on having the box against a wall. Of course, the wood wasn’t cut straight at Home Depot and part of it was off, so the thing isn’t perfectly square. Joseph built a shelf for me, which seems to be working great. I’ll be gettings bolts to attach it to my project.

I had to run to work for a few hours and I needed to get the measurements of the lcd screen and printer. He helped me cut rectangles into my box.

The box is pretty light and a decent size. I might still get casters, so that it’s more vending machine like and easier to move.

I had a meeting with Jessica today and she suggest that I do a bit of visual research. I need to figure out how I want my box to look. I need to look into genre and style. Pop machines, time period. Jessica suggested I look into sci-fi and pay attention to details down to the bolts.

I’m currently wood filling all the terribly unsmooth surface. Should have gotten more expensive wood.

About Cristal Sung

Cristal is a new media designer, who believes in the importance of feeding the soul with art, culture, and food. Her work focuses on themes of identity, sociopolitical problems and the concept of beauty. Cristal is from Hong Kong and studies in Toronto.

Leave a Reply

