Aspire

I went to Home Depot a couple days ago with another very long list of things. I figured out my aesthetics, 1970/80s vending machine with a checkout shelf on the side. The guy at Home Depot was very helpful, getting me vinyl adhesive wood pattern, metal joint liner, and PVC edging that I’ll have to spray paint black. No where in Canada sells black vinyl edging. I wanted it black to match the printer, the PVC edging comes in only white.

I also cut the wood the wrong size for the light box. I decided I only need 1 lightbox to light up the selection item display as well.

Resources: How to Apply Wood Veneer | Arcade Black Vinyl Edging

2013-02-05 22.15.53 Then I got rubber pigtail lights, so that I could build the light box.

Black is live, white is neutral. The wire with texture is live, while the smooth one is neutral. This made it a lot easier to wire the lighting. I used the electrical screw caps (used for lighting in ceilings and walls).

Wiring in parallel is quite easy, I’ve wired in led and fluorescent now.

I made sure that everything was done right, 110V is dangerous and switching the the live and neutral can break the fluorescent lights.

Resource: Instructables – Photo lamp and lightbox, version 2 | Homemade Movie Poster Light-box | Light Box | Wiring American 110 volt

aspire_logo_2

I had to think of the logo, which I know is going to be the name of my project. Bouncing names off a lot of people and finally settling on Aspire. A desire, a goal, positive, but aspiring for status and willing to sacrifice. I had to do research on 70s, 80s graphics and logos. I opted for a font based logo that was 80s style. Then I went for solid primary colours.

Resources: Graphic Design Through the Decades Series: The ’70s | Graphic Design Through the Decades Series: The ’80s | Rolling Rock 80s logo | 7up Pop Machine

I looked into movie posters and the material used for posters in light boxes is very very expensive. I’m looking into maybe using Vellum paper and I asked InkPort if they printed on vellum. Apparently, it’s not as bright as it should be, but will probably work. It’s also half the price of professional movie posters. I don’t mind it being that bright because it’s suppose to look retro.

About Cristal Sung

Cristal is a new media designer, who believes in the importance of feeding the soul with art, culture, and food. Her work focuses on themes of identity, sociopolitical problems and the concept of beauty. Cristal is from Hong Kong and studies in Toronto.

Leave a Reply

