Snow Day

The weather outside was a little frightful. I have a critique Monday, so I decided to go to Home Depot and get some MDF for my organ box. I want my light box done and my organ box done. I need doors for my light box with aluminium foil to diffuse and reflect. I returned some things and got more vinyl.

I’ve noticed that the vinyl isn’t sticking to the wood well, I’m assuming because it’s not smooth. I decided to get carpet tape and construction glue. I’ll be fixing this later.

I also ended up going to Walmart to get fluorescent light bulbs for my light box.

I got all the wood cut smaller, hoping that I could carry it home on the streetcar. Of course, due to weather, I didn’t see any streetcar. The wood and MDF was really heavy and I was struggling to wait for a streetcar. Ended up cabbing it home. The weather looked terrible, I’d hate to be driving in this weather.

I went home, dropped stuff off. Went to visit my sister, who told me Ryerson had closed. There’s no access to IMA322 because it’s not RFID and the workshop was likely to be closed.

So frustrating! I’m falling behind on my project, lost an entire day! An entire week of woodworking! I need to cut the holes for my vellum, make my light box, mount my plexiglass, and then I can start getting closer to finishing the physical. I didn’t think it would take me this long, but I’m working with so many time and resource restrictions.

I snapped. I bought a saw and spade bits. The saw was half off, so I don’t feel as bad. It was cheaper than my drill.

I worked on the organ box today, started gluing and nailing it together. Then I’m going to laminate (vinyl), paint the interior white, and get hinges.

I’ll be cutting the holes tomorrow, make my light box and mount it tomorrow. I have to try and make up this day, but it seems unlikely. The building closes at 5:30 pm tomorrow, and isn’t open on Sunday. My critique is Monday!

About Cristal Sung

Cristal is a new media designer, who believes in the importance of feeding the soul with art, culture, and food. Her work focuses on themes of identity, sociopolitical problems and the concept of beauty. Cristal is from Hong Kong and studies in Toronto.

Leave a Reply

