Showcasing is Stressful

Setting up for showcase was very stressful. I hadn’t gotten every done. I finished most of the physical elements before reading week and worked on the circuit during reading week.

My boss at Y&R was very nice and he asked if I needed time off. I think I looked stressed. I left work early on Wed. and off all day Thursday. I needed to get my circuits and everything working.

I plugged in and got this error during upload:

avrdude: verification error, first mismatch at byte 0x0308
0x62 != 0xff
avrdude: verification error; content mismatch

Resource: avrdude :verifcation error; content mismatch | Bitmap printing

Apparently, all those 0xFFs are white pixels. I figured it was from the bitmap logo that I made (aspire.h). I changed it to black on white and still go the error. After a lot of testing, I found out that it was the size of the bitmap was too big. I made sure to cut it back a few pixels on the sides and the bottoms to fit the requirement.

Screen Shot 2013-04-08 at 3.51.05 AM

It was the first error that I fixed. I noticed that the buttons weren’t working properly, some of them pressing without anyone pressing. I serial printed the input of the buttons and found that instead of HIGH, it would go to 0 when pressed. It also jumped around a little, sometimes 0 would appear. I reprogrammed it so that each button would check 3 times with a 1ms delay and I placed it into an array to save myself the trouble of writing an int for each test.

void checkbtn() {
for (int i=0; i < 3; i++) {
btnR[i] = analogRead(btn0P);
delay(1);
}
for (int i=3; i < 6; i++) {
btnR[i] = analogRead(btn1P);
delay(1);
}
for (int i=6; i < 9; i++) {
btnR[i] = analogRead(btn2P);
delay(1);
}
for (int i=9; i < 12; i++) {
btnR[i] = analogRead(btn3P);
delay(1);
}
for (int i=12; i < 15; i++) {
btnR[i] = analogRead(btn4P);
delay(1);
}
for (int i=15; i < 18; i++) {
btnR[i] = analogRead(btn5P);
delay(1);
}
}//end of checkbtn

This worked well and the button didn’t randomly press itself. It requires people to press a little longer though, only very little.

My LCD joints broke and the buttons broke, which is why everything is so finicky. Had to resolder everything. I barely finished for the jury, maybe 30 minutes. Some people stopped by and I watched them test my project. Occasionally, the RFID jumped and people didn’t have to scan. I’ll need to figure out why.

Luckily, it only happened once for the jury.

I also noticed that the text on the screen flickered in one state (scanned), but not another. I guess as long as I got it working for the showcase.

About Cristal Sung

Cristal is a new media designer, who believes in the importance of feeding the soul with art, culture, and food. Her work focuses on themes of identity, sociopolitical problems and the concept of beauty. Cristal is from Hong Kong and studies in Toronto.

Leave a Reply

