Freak Out!

I was hoping the move to Arta would be easy. My project isn’t hard to move, but of course it’s never easy. I found out on the first day of setup that there was probably a short circuit on my board. My fuse kept going out.

I found out this morning that the smallest hairline of solder connected a pin to ground. I used my nail and the tiny line of solder flicked off and it didn’t connect anymore. The multimeter that I had bought last from Craigslist used for 5 bucks was a bargin and super useful right now. I did connectivity tests on everything to make sure that the screen was going to work. I ended up changing the headers to the white connectors. I made sure all the stranded wire had heat shrink. I added more solder and re-solder some connections because they weren’t actually connected.

I went back to Arta the second day and my circuits didn’t fuse anymore, but I noticed my printer wasn’t working. It had a weird burning smell. I think I might have crossed over the power when I plugged it back in, which must have bypassed the fuse.

I had the terrible feeling that I couldn’t show. Adafruit took way too long to ship me my printer and it was out of stock anywhere. Where do I get a small thermal printer anyways? David Rokeby was there and helped me. We figured it was a connection that melted or something. We called around to see if places sold a small black thermal printer. Amazing, Creatron had one in stock!

It took a little while for the printer to run properly and I noticed that the door doesn’t sit that well in the box, it causes the paper not to move out fast enough sometimes.

The scanner also jumps through sometimes. I’m not sure what it is.

I got the flickering to stop by moving the lcd.clear() to the end of each state, so the lcd would only clear once that state was over and then put the new lines.

To help get rid of those weird characters that sometimes appear on the screen I found out that putting a for loop for each string to work better. It sends the signal in the right order that allows it not to jumble up.

for (int i=0; i <= (ln4.length() - 1); i++) {
lcd.write(ln4.charAt(i));
}

About Cristal Sung

Cristal is a new media designer, who believes in the importance of feeding the soul with art, culture, and food. Her work focuses on themes of identity, sociopolitical problems and the concept of beauty. Cristal is from Hong Kong and studies in Toronto.

Leave a Reply

